**Public Document Pack** 



### **ANNUAL COUNCIL**

### 22 MAY 2019

SUPPLEMENTARY AGENDA 2

#### <u>PART 1</u>

#### 11. APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES OF THE COUNCIL

- A. To appoint Members to the Standing Committees of Stevenage Borough Council for the Municipal Year 2018/19; and
- B. To appoint to the positions of Chair and Vice-Chair for each of those Committees.

Pages 3 – 8

#### 12. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

To appoint Council representatives onto various outside bodies for the Municipal Year 2019/20.

Pages 9 - 12

Supplementary Agenda Published 22 May 2019

This page is intentionally left blank

# Agenda Item 11

#### ANNUAL COUNCIL – 22 MAY 2019 NOMINATIONS/NOTIFICATIONS RECEIVED FOR POSITIONS/APPOINTMENTS FOR 2019/20

#### AGENDA ITEM

#### 3. <u>APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR</u>

Councillor Simon Speller

#### 4. <u>APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR</u>

**Councillor Jim Brown** 

#### 5. <u>APPOINTMENT OF YOUTH MAYOR</u>

William Sarenden

#### 6. <u>APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL</u>

Councillor Sharon Taylor, OBE, CC

#### Portfolios (as appointed by Councillor S Taylor, OBE, CC)

Councillor Mrs Joan Lloyd – Deputy Leader and Resources Councillor Lloyd Briscoe – Economy, Enterprise and Transport Councillor Rob Broom – Neighbourhoods and Co-operative Working Councillor John Gardner – Environment and Regeneration Councillor Richard Henry – Children, Young People and Leisure Councillor Jackie Hollywell – Communities, Community Safety and Equalities Councillor Jeannette Thomas – Housing, Health and Older People

#### 8. <u>APPOINTMENT OF LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION</u>

Leader of Opposition - Councillor P Bibby CC Deputy Leader of Opposition - Councillor G Lawrence

#### 9. <u>APPOINTMENT OF LEADERS AND DEPUTY LEADERS OF THE POLITICAL</u> <u>GROUPS ON THE COUNCIL</u>

Labour Group	Leader Deputy Leader	Councillor S Taylor, OBE, CC Councillor Mrs J Lloyd
Conservative	Leader Deputy Leader	Councillor P Bibby CC Councillor G Lawrence
Liberal Democrats	Leader Deputy Leader	Councillor R Parker CC Councillor A McGuinness

#### 11. APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES OF THE COUNCIL

Where no Vice-Chair is shown they will be appointed at the first meeting of the Committee

#### **Overview & Scrutiny Committee**

14 Members – (10-2-2) Councillors -

L Martin-Haugh (Chair) P Bibby CC (Vice-Chair) S Barr J Brown L Chester M Downing M Gardner J Mead S Mead A McGuinness S-J McDonough A Mitchell CC C Parris R Parker CC

#### **Community Select Committee**

10 Members - (7-2-1) Councillors -

S Mead (Chair) M Notley (Vice-Chair) S Booth A Brown T Callaghan A Farquharson L Harrington J Mead C Parris L Rossati

#### Environment & Economy Select Committee

11 Members (7-3-1) Councillors -

M Downing (Chair) A Mitchell CC (Vice-Chair) D Bainbridge S Barr S Booth A Brown J Brown T Callaghan D Cullen J Hanafin L Rossati

#### Planning & Development Committee

13 Members - (8-3-2) Councillors - D Cullen (Chair) D Bainbridge S Barr M Gardner J Hanafin L Harrington L Kelly G Lawrence J Lloyd S-J McDonough M McKay G Snell T Wren

#### **Licensing Committee**

14 Members - (9-3-2) Councillors -

L Chester (Chair) D Bainbridge S Barr J Brown M Downing J Hanafin L Harrington R Henry G Lawrence J Lloyd M McKay A McGuinness L Rossati G Snell

#### **General Purposes Committee**

14 Members - (9-3-2) Councillors -

L Chester (Chair) D Bainbridge S Barr J Brown M Downing J Hanafin L Harrington R Henry G Lawrence J Lloyd M McKay A McGuinness Page 5

#### L Rossati G Snell

#### **Appointments Committee**

8 Members - (6-1-1) Councillors -

S Taylor, OBE, CC (Chair) P Bibby CC M Downing J Gardner R Henry Mrs J Lloyd R Parker CC J Thomas

#### **Standards Committee**

8 Members - (6-1-1) Councillors – Mrs J Lloyd (Chair) T Callaghan M Downing L Martin-Haugh J Mead M Notley L Rossati T Wren

#### Audit Committee

8 Elected Members - (6-1-1) + 1 Independent co-opted Member (G Gibbs) Councillors - M McKay (Chair) S Barr S Booth L Chester D Cullen J Gardner L Kelly G Lawrence

#### **Statement of Accounts Committee**

8 Members - (6-1-1) Councillors -

Mrs J Lloyd (Chair) P Bibby CC R Broom L Chester J Hollywell J Mead S Mead G Snell

### Housing Management Advisory Board

5 Members - (4-1-0) Councillors -

L Harrington L Kelly J Lloyd L Martin-Haugh M Notley This page is intentionally left blank

# **APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES 2019/20**

# **Appointments By Position**

ORGANISATION	Position	
Council for the Protection of Rural England The Hertfordshire Society	Portfolio Holder Environment and Regeneration	
East of England Local Government Association	The Leader of the Council	
East of England Regional Planning	Portfolio Holder Environment and Regeneration	
HCC Joint Waste Management Group	Portfolio Holder Environment and Regeneration	
Hertfordshire Infrastructure Planning and Policy Group	Portfolio Holder Environment and Regeneration	
Hertfordshire Local Authorities Leaders Group	The Leader of the Council	
Hertfordshire Supporting People Commissioning Body Members Overview Group	Portfolio Holder Housing, Health and Older People	
Hertfordshire Sustainability Forum Steering Group	Portfolio Holder Environment and Regeneration	
Local Government Association	The Leader of the Council	
Responsible Authority Group (Community Safety)	Portfolio Holder Communities, Community Safety and Equalities	
SoStevenage Partnership	The Leader of the Council and Deputy Leader	
Stevenage Community Safety Partnership	Portfolio Holder Communities, Community Safety and Equalities	
Stevenage Leisure Limited	The Leader of the Council and Portfolio Holder Children Young People and Leisure	

# Outside Bodies 2019/20 receiving funding/rent in kind or use of SBC Building

ORGANISATION	No of Councillors	Councillor
Age Concern Stevenage	1	John Lloyd
Bedwell Community Association	1	Liz Harrington
Bragbury Centre	1	John Lloyd
Chells Manor Community Association	1	Andy McGuinness
Crossroads Care (to be confirmed)	2	John Gardner Mrs Joan Lloyd
Douglas Drive Senior Citizens Association	1	John Lloyd
Home-Start Stevenage	1	John Gardner
Kadoma Link Association	2	Graham Snell
		John Gardner
Living Room Project	1	Jackie Hollywell
Old Stevenage Community Association	1	Jim Brown
Oval Community Association	1	Lloyd Briscoe
Pin Green Community Association	1	Jeannette Thomas
Shephall Community Association	1	John Mead
St Nicholas Community Association	1	Sandra Barr
Stevenage Citizens Advice Bureau	1	Michael Downing
Stevenage Community Trust	2	Richard Henry Maureen McKay
Stevenage Credit Union Limited	1	Laurie Chester
Stevenage Furniture Recycling Scheme	1	John Lloyd
Stevenage Haven	1	Rob Broom
Stevenage/Autun/Ingelheim Association	2	Richard Henry

		Simon Speller
Stevenage World Forum For Ethnic Communities	1	John Gardner
Symonds Green Community Association	1	Laurie Chester
Timebridge Community Association	1	Jackie Hollywell
Turn the Tide	1	Lizzy Kelly

### **Other Outside Bodies**

ORGANISATION	No of Councillors	Councillor
East of England LGA Improvement and Efficiency Panel	1	Richard Henry
HCC Health Scrutiny Committee	1	Maureen McKay
Local Government Information Unit	1	Jim Brown
Luton Airport Consultative Committee	1	John Gardner
Stevenage Consolidated Charities (Four Year Period)	4	Vacancy C Latif (to 2020) Maureen McKay (to 2021) John Mead (to 2021)

Page 12

This page is intentionally left blank